First love.

by jessicajadexo

People say you can never forget your first love, because it is the strongest and most important love of all. However, we have this stereotypical idea of teenagers going to school, falling ‘in love’ with someone, and breaking up with each other a few months later.

And the break-up process goes on, over and over again. From Email break ups, phone break ups, text break ups, as well as facebook break ups. But rarely ever the ‘face-to-face’ break up, because lets face it, a lot of teenagers out there haven’t got the maturity to do this yet. And teenage couples don’t usually do this just once. I would say on average, a teenage couple breaks up and get back together at least 3 times before moving on. 

Falling in love is so important to teenagers now a days, and there is a great amount of pressure for us to find the perfect boyfriend, fall in love and take it to the next level. We want to feel those butterflies when we set eyes on them, and a rush of excitement when they hold us close. We want to find someone thats not afraid to kiss us infront of their friends, cuddle us from behind, play with our hair and tickle our back in bed. But maybe thats too much to ask for?

Well not for me.

“The future for me is already a thing of the past –
You were my first love and you will be my last” – Bob Dylan

You may think i’m naive, or just stupid, but I honestly do think that I’ve found my ‘true’ love. I’m at such a high in my life right now, and he makes me so happy. My heart beats faster every time I speak to him, and when he holds me, everything bad in my life seems to disappear. I’m in love, and i’m not afraid to admit it. I’m not in one of those stereotypical ‘2 month’ relationships, instead i’ve been with my boyfriend for a year and a half, and I couldn’t be happier. He’s there for me when I need him, through the good and the bad. He’s not afraid to show me off infront of his friends, or play with my hair and tickle my back… and its the best feeling ever.

“There’s no love like the first.” – I couldn’t agree more.

