Love- do we really know what it means?

by jessicajadexo

Love is such a touchy subject, because people have such different ideas about it now. What is Love? I believe this is one of the hardest questions to answer, because no one really knows a true definition of Love. Some people say love is about friendship and being ‘as one’ whereas others may feel that love is just a simple one night stand.

Yes, chemistry and physical attraction are important, but true love also includes commitment, trust and respect. But i think a large percentage of people my age have forgotten the importance of respect for each other when in a relationship.

But the media are no help when it comes to a proper relationship. I recently read an article on couples, where it states that “The average person in the UK gets it on just 42 times a year.. Well frankly thats not enough! So we’ve devised a month-long plan that’ll challenge you and your man to get your sex life back on track. When it comes to sex, if you don’t use it, you lose it.” Now, although I agree that couples should have a healthy regular sex life, this magazine is actually aimed at teenagers as young as 13. I don’t think this is the best example to be setting for such young girls. It is basically saying, ‘If you don’t have sex, you won’t have a boyfriend’ which I think puts a lot of pressure on them.

This article says absolutely nothing about spending quality time together, having dinner or going to the cinema. It is purely based on sex, and sex itself. It includes ideas such as “Try some role play” “Tie your boyfriend to the bed using silk scarves then do a slow striptease” and “Skype sex, its like phone sex, only better!” Now it would be perfectly acceptable if read by someone of a mature age, but I think giving ideas such a skype sex, to a 13 year old, is ridiculous.. especially when skype is so widely used by young teens.

So even though we may know what love means, I don’t think we’re showing it in the correct way. Love should be about passion and connection, not about what position you should try in bed next. I think there should be a balance, something that we find very hard to figure out anymore.

I’m a typical romantic, I love going out for dinner with my boyfriend, and spending endless days sat in bed watching films with him, and I know the balance of keeping a strong relationship between us. But I don’t think the next generation will have any idea of how to be ‘romantic’ because no one is there standing as a role model for them. They can only follow what they have seen in magazines, reading articles like this.

I’m never usually bothered by anything like this, but as soon as I read this article and realised which magazine it was in, I couldn’t help but feel surprised, and a little bit shocked. I know my 11 year old cousin reads this particular magazine now and then, and seeing some of the things it says, really worries me, because someone of her maturity should not be reading the things I have commented on here. Its crazy.Image

